Week 1

I’ll let the photos do most of the talking (:

Sometimes I um and ah about side trips, especially I have not heard any recommendations. So it was a pleasant surprise when I discovered a local secret, Tannum Sands. The walk/bike track all g Boyne River was equally as beautiful. I met Jan and Karl from Scotts Head who invited me to rest for a chat and cuppa.














There was a section of highway I skipped to get to 1770 and Agnes Water but I stopped in Benaraby, a small community about 20kms south of Gladstone.




This is my favourite part of the dry season. It is cool, low humidity, perfect weather everyday and the paperbarks are in bloom. The fragrance is intoxicating and frenetic bird and bee activity in the paperbarks is mesmerising.



Since 1998 I have dreamt of visiting the Town of 1770 and on Thursday my dream came true. In the late 1990’s I lived on a yacht at Marina Mirage on the Gold Coast and the owner came from up this way. He would reminisce for hours about this part of the coast, especially 1770 and Agnes Water. I fell in love with a place I had never seen until this week and I exceeded my expectations!










You can walk all the way from Agnes Water to the 1770 Headland but if you’re feeling lazy there are a few carparking bays to take shorter 1km section walks to the butterflies, lookouts and beaches.

I met a beautiful family from Tambourine Mountain who walked with me to their camp and we had a cuppa in the sunshine sitting on the beach. Sue, Majeed, Kian and Layla have invited me to stay with them on my way south. Thank you!


When I made a rough itinerary and started sending out accommodation requests I jokingly wondered if I would be blessed with a sponsorship from a spa resort. Lagoons 1770 Spa Resort made another dream come true!

Lagoons 1770 is something special! Initially they donated 1 night but after a terrible night of back problems and waking with spasms each time I tried moving I called the local chiropractor and explained my predicament. I was expecting to pay for the second night but Lagoons 1770 very generously sponsored a second night. Wow! How awesome is that!

It is a really beautiful resort in a perfect destination. If you are planning a visit to Agnes Water and 1770 spoil yourself.











This morning, as I enjoy the clear, clean sunlight reflecting off the pool while indulging in my last real coffee for the next week I am grateful for everything I have and have been given. I am well and rested, the back is behaving and more beautiful places wait for me to find them

2 thoughts on “Week 1

  1. Oh Terra I am so happy for you…the Universe appears to be with you…I am so sorry I missed your start…I had to go to Cairns to see Jackson and then caught a cold..just starting to feel better now..so will get onto the journey forward for you and get an answer to your last Q…I have had difficulty being available to talk to the girls and vice versa but we will connect and work it out for you….enjoy your Happy Walk.xxxxx chat soon

    Like

  2. Absolutely stunning!! Your photos are beautiful, and 50c avocados!!!! Feeling a little jealous as it’s currently 3 degrees at 10am here!

    Like

Leave a Reply

