Day One (of the last leg)

This morning I return to The Happy Walk after 7 months recovery break feeling good about it.

With only about 2,900kms remaining I am not concerned about time, deadlines, racing the seasons and especially not breaking any personal distance records.

This year the walk will be relaxed, setting comfortable distances and achievable goals. This year I’m number one. My wellness and wellbeing will come first. Not a new concept but something I have never applied seriously before.

Throughout this leg of the walk I will be seeking support and sponsors who can help me stay focused, balanced and strong through wellness therapies, chiro and physiotherapy. It is my nature to push myself as far beyond my limits as I can before my body or mind snap. This is not the smart way to do things so I need to rewire my brain for self-care and responding appropriately to warnings. I’m proud of my mensa IQ but this doesn’t automatically translate to high emotional or body intelligence quotas. In fact, on these levels I am like a child.
For this reason I am prioritising self-care as one of this years personal growth goals and there is no better place to learn than in the environment where I find it most convenient to ignore my own needs.

On Thursday and Friday I attended the Happiness & Its Causes conference with my brother and sister-in-law, Steve and Sil, in Sydney. It was amazing! Beth Phelan, the organiser extraordinaire of Vijrayana Institute Conferences made this possible. Thank you Beth!


Many of the presenters have given me plenty to think about as I walk and I’ll share a few of their insights and research with you through Instagram stories.

I haven’t tried this Instagram story thing before so please bear with a week or so of mistakes. I’ll still post to the normal feed as usual.

I’m feeling well rested after a luxurious night in Gladstone Mercure. I felt like a queen! Thank you to Craig and the staff for sponsoring The Happy Walk and looking after me in Gladstone. I arrived exhausted and almost missed dinner because I fell asleep as soon as I stretched out on the giant bed. They even made a personalised room card!!!


Writing this is now becoming a procrastination. I need to get going. I can’t guarantee how often I blog, I’ll try as often as I get free wifi.

If you would like to catch up as I walk down the coast please email me at thehappywalker@gmail.com and we’ll try to catch up. When I reach Newcastle in October I will be completing the “solo” lap of Australia and, if you want to plan ahead a bit, from there to Canberra I welcome walking buddies to join me for a day or two, especially along the Great North Walk.

I hope to meet more supporters along the way so don’t be shy, come say “Hi!”

2 thoughts on “Day One (of the last leg)

Leave a Reply

